

4300 220th Street West Farmington, MN 55024 (651) 463-7134 1-800-874-3409 Fax (651) 463-6256

A Locally Owned, Nonprofit Electric Utility

PRESS RELEASE (no. 20/07)

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Joe Miller
Telephone: (651) 463-6178
Media Hotline: (612) 987-5427

Elections at Dakota Electric put new director on board

FARMINGTON, Minn. (May 8, 2020) — Dakota Electric Association's membership cast their vote in the cooperative's annual election. This year, three incumbents were re-elected and one new board member seated.

The election results were as follows:

District 1 – John (Jack) DeYoe, Lakeville, (incumbent) received 7,922 votes.

District 2 – Bill Middlecamp, Apple Valley, received 7,964 votes.

District 3 – Margaret D. Schreiner, Eagan, (incumbent) received 6,341 votes; James Wrobleski, Eagan, received 2,089 votes.

District 4 – Paul Bakken, Eagan, (incumbent) received 5,241 votes; Paul Trapp, Hastings, received 3,223 votes.

The bylaw amendment to allow replacement ballots passed (7,199 yes; 1,216 no).

While the annual meeting was canceled due to COVID-19, the elections process continued as normal with voting taking place by mail and online.

Dakota Electric 20/07 page 2

Dakota Electric members who wish to view the reports that would have been given at the annual meeting can see them online: click the "Board of Directors and Leadership" link found in the footer of any webpage at www.dakotaelectric.com.

-more-

CEO Greg Miller highlighted the company's outstanding safety record, low electric rates, reliability improvements and other items. Board Chair Jerry Pittman mentioned the great service the staff continues to provide even during the COVID-19 pandemic, multiple awards Dakota Electric has received and the board's work on the cooperative's strategic and operating plan. Pittman also had a tribute to board member Janet Lekson, district 2, who passed away in February. Board Treasurer Jim Sheldon provided a report on the 2019 financials.

"We are sorry we could not hold the annual meeting this year," Pittman said. "However, we wanted to still provide the reports to our members, so we made them available online in a short video."

A customer-owned, not-for-profit utility since 1937, Dakota Electric Association provides electricity to more than 109,000 members throughout Dakota County and portions of Goodhue, Rice and Scott counties. Dakota Electric, a Touchstone Energy Cooperative, serves its member-owners with integrity, accountability, innovation and commitment to community.